OldArchive / Sports

Another Record-Breaking Lasagna Invitational


By the time the Wyalusing Lasagna Invitational wrapped up after midnight on a cold, damp April evening, nine new meet records had been broken.

Tunkhannock’s Gavin Colley earned the Top Male Track Performer trophy with two record-breaking efforts in the 100 and 200 dashes at Peterson Stadium on April 29.

Elk Lake’s Mike Bedell broke the 800 record and ran a leg on the record-breaking 3200 relay.

Towanda’s Joel Christian shattered the old 3200 mark.

In the boys’ field events, Northeast Bradford’s Cody Chaffee and Rob Robbins, who was named Top Male Field Performer, eclipsed the old meet marks in the discus and javelin, respectively.

Two girls’ records also fell.

Dallas’s Regan Rome set a new record in the 3200. Tunkhannock’s Anna Nole also established a new high jump record.


Boys’ Meet

Colley’s efforts helped Tunkhannock to its second straight boys’ team title. The Tigers finished with 94 points, well ahead of runner-up Holy Redeemer, which had 75.

Dallas won the girls’ team title, holding off a stiff challenge from Holy Redeemer. Dallas finished with 85 points, while Holy Redeemer finished with 79 points. Abington Heights was a close third with 75 points.

Holy Redeemer won the combined team trophy with 154 points. Tunkhannock was second with 123 points.

Colley’s winning time in the 100 of 11.17 seconds just beat the old mark set of 11.18 in 2006 by Wyalusing Valley’s Jimmy Chadwick.

He broke his own meet record set last year in the 200. His new mark of 22.69 seconds eclipsed his old mark of 22.92.

Colley also won the long jump with a distance of 20 feet, 10.5 inches.

Tunkhannock’s Nikolas Atkins also won the triple jump with a distance of 42 feet, 6.75 inches.

Bedell cruised to victory in the 1600 in 1:56.89, easily beating the old mark set last year by Troy’s Matt Oldroyd of 1:58.14.

He joined Sean Carney, Bryan Grosvenor and Will Bennett to set a new record of 8:02.06. Elk Lake, including Bedell, Carney, Grosvenor and Tyler Williams, held the old record of 8:03.00 set last year.

Bedell, Carney, Bennett and Brad Moore also teamed up to win the 1600 relay in 3:32.12.

Bennett added a solo win in the 1600 with a time of 4:34.15.

Robbins led a strong effort by the Northeast Bradford boys, who finished third in the team standings with 70 points.

He broke the javelin record with a throw of 196 feet, eight inches. Wyalusing’s Glenn Bell held the old record of 191 feet, seven inches set in 2007.

Robbins also won the high jump with a height of six feet, edging Wyalusing’s Tucker Allyn, who cleared five feet, 10 inches. The victory gave Robbins the Bob Hanzok Memorial Award, one of three special awards recognizing winners in the three events in which Wyalusing athletes have won PIAA championships.

Chaffee’s record setting throw of 152 feet, three inches in the discus erased the old mark set by Coughlin’s Eric Kemmerer of 150 feet set in 2006.

The highlight of the boys’ meet was the 3200 where Christian pulled away from a pack of nine runners with one lap left.

His winning time of 9:32.65 shaved more than five seconds off the record set last year by Tunkhannock’s Reece Ayers of 9:37.85.

Other boys’ winners included Windsor’s Tony Griswold in the 400; Athens’ Kyle Pane in the 110 hurdles; Blue Ridge’s Zach Kruger in the 300 hurdles and Eric Onyon in the shot put and Holy Redeemer’s 400 relay team of David Gawlas, Seth Tarselli, Jeff Capaci and Austin Carr.

 Towanda’s Greg Hildebrandt won the pole vault with a height of 12 feet, nine inches to win the Jerami Stucchio Award.


Girls’ Meet

Lackawanna Trail’s Lauren Ellsworth earned the Top Female Track Award with three event wins—100, 200 and 400 dashes.

Ellsworth won the 100 in 12.66 seconds, the 200 in 26.10 seconds, and the 400 in 58.76.

The 400 featured a strong field of local runners. Elk Lake’s Cassie VanEtten was second behind Ellsworth with a time of 59.96. Wyalusing’s Jessica Hotaling was fourth in 1:00.05. Elk Lake’s Kelsey Hermick was fifth in 1:03.06.

Northeast Bradford’s Kelsey Carlsen won the Top Female Field Award with wins in the shot put with a distance of 32 feet, four inches and the javelin with a throw of 124 feet, four inches.

If not for Ellsworth’s efforts, Rome would have been a logical choice to win the top track award.

Rome took almost eight full seconds off the 3200 record with a time of 11:08.91. Elk Lake’s Maria Trowbridge held the old record, set last year, of 11:16.70.

She also won the 1600 in 5:21.32.

Dallas’s Kirby Szalkowski was a two-time winner, capturing the long jump with a distance of 16 feet. 2.5 inches and the 100 hurdles in 16.23 seconds.

Her victory in the long jump earned her the Cathy Boyanowski Award.

Cortlyne Van Deutsch, also of Dallas, won the triple jump with a distance of 34 feet, two inches.

Dallas also won the 400 relay. The team of Lindsay Danko, Cierra Plesnar, Ashley Dunbar and Katie Gawlas finished in 51.24 seconds.

Nole’s record setting leap of five feet, four inches in the high jump beat the old mark set by Lake-Lehman’s Rebekah Williams in 2007 by one inch.

The most competitive race of the girls’ meet was the 800 where Wyalusing’s Erika Huffman came within one stride of claiming the win.

Huffman and Windsor’s Maddy Zietz swapped the lead twice on the final lap with Zietz making a late charge to nip Huffman at the wire. Zietz finished in 2:20.53, while Huffman timed in at 2:20.54.

Elk Lake had one win, capturing the 1600 relay in 4:17.50 with VanEtten, Hermick, Kirsten Hollister and Emily Williams running legs.

VanEtten, Williams, Maria Trowbridge and Elizabeth Trowbridge had a second-place finish in the 3200 relay, falling to Abington Heights. The Lady Comets’ winning time was 9:51.00.

Other winners included Windsor’s Leigh Martino in the 300 hurdles and Athens’ Patience Nero in the discus.

Wyalusing Valley’s Aaron Johnson nears the finish of the 100 dash at the Lasagna Invitational.Wyalusing Valley’s Aaron Johnson nears the finish of the 100 dash at the Lasagna Invitational.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.