OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing: Champions Crowned at Area Tracks

Redline Raceway in Granville, PA, crowned its track champions on Friday, Sept. 3.

IMCA Modified champion Steve Hartman, Jr. and Pure Stock champ Ernie Martin won their respective features Friday to cap the season.

Other feature winners were Mike Jackson in Modifieds, J.T. McKernan and Eddie McKernan in separate Street Stock features and Eric Ellsworth in Minis.

Mike Schane claimed the Modified track championship, while Eric Matthews claimed the Street Stock title. Ray Hyer won the Mini crown.

Chemung Speedrome

At Chemung, on Sept. 3, Chris Clark won the 40-lap B-Modified feature.

Mike Nichols won the Street Stock feature. Other winners included Gene Purvis in Four Cylinders, Tom Mitteer in Legends and Brandon Ameigh in Speedrome Juniors.

There were two powder puff races held with Kim Kurzejewski winning the Four-Cylinder race and Mary Robinson capturing the Street Stock race.

Penn Can Speedway

At Susquehanna, PA, on Sept. 3, Brian Weaver won the Modified feature to claim the track championship for the fourth straight year.

Brian Decker and Arnie Slade each won a Sportsman feature. Other winners were Dan Stone in Late Models, Paul Strohl in Super Stocks and Chris Wood and Shane Wolf in a pair of Pure Stock features.

Joe Domiano won the Late Model track title. Charlie Gilbert was the Pure Stock champion. Kevin Bates won the Sportsman title by one point over Slade. Tracy Gregory won the Super Stock title.

Tioga Motorsports Park

At Owego, NY, on Sept. 4, Bill Chandler won the Sunoco Modified feature.

Phil Slater captured the B-Modified feature. Other winners were Gary Gommer in Late Models, R.J. Zacharias in Street Stocks, Gary Rineheimer in Factory Stocks and Cliff Rought in Legends.

This Saturday the track will hold its final points race of the season.

Five Mile Point Speedway

At Kirkwood, NY, on Sept. 4, Dan Hineline won the 50-lap Modified feature, but Don Hart, Jr. claimed the track championship in the division.

Other feature winners were Rodney Hart, who also claimed the Sportsman track title; Gary Dence, UMP Modified track champ; Dan Pompey in Street Stocks; Dan Callen in Pure Stocks and Jason Rochelle in Legends.

Darl Ellis won the Street Stock track title, and Charlie Gilbert claimed the Pure Stock championship.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.