OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing: Dunn Hill 2 Holds Mid-Season Championships


Shawn Bruce won the IMCA Modified Mid-Season feature at Dunn Hill 2 Speedway in Monroeton on July 1.

Bruce crossed the line ahead of Eddie Sites and Harry Ely.

In Factory Stocks, Brad Sites took the checkers over Shannon Oswald and George Diegel.

Ben Hulslander won the Street Stock feature. Ernie Martin was second, followed by Rick Brown.

Kenny Underwood, Klem Underwood and Mike Hodle were the top three in the Front Wheel Drive division after the original race winning car failed post-race inspection.

In Mini Stocks, Doug Colton was the winner over Eric Ellsworth and Shane Brown.


Chemung Speedrome

At Chemung, NY, on July 1, Jimmy Zacharias won the Modified feature over J.R. Kent and T.J. Potrzebowski.

Two 15-lap Legends features were held. Mike Alcaro swept both events. Daren Scherer and Justin Petkosky were second and third, respectively, in both races.

Tony Gullo won the Four Cylinder feature over Archie Haner and Gene Purvis.

Jeremy Potrzebowski won the Super Stock feature. Terry Potrzebowski was second, followed by Mike Nichols.

Alexandria Smith won the Bandolero race over David French and Kyle Fratesi.


Penn Can Speedway

On July 1, Alan Rudalavage won the Modified feature over Kevin Bates and Chris Weaver at Susquehanna, PA.

Tracy Gregory took the Late Model checkers over Steve Deinhardt and Dan Snyder.

In Sportsman action, Mike Nagel, Jr. took the checkers. Steve Hicks and Larry Hillis were second and third, respectively.

Rich Talada won the Street Stock feature. Ryan Stone was second, followed by Paul Rooney.

Rob Warner won the Factory Stock finale over Ted Mills, III and Gary Cleveland.

Andy Brigham was the Four Cylinder winner over Joe Warner and Andy Colwell.


Shangri-La II Speedway

At Tioga Center, NY, on July 2, a pair of Race of Champion (ROC) qualifiers for Street Stocks and Late Models highlighted the night.

Travis Fisher took the checkers in the completion of the June 25 Late Model finale, holding off Joseph Burns and Jerry Dineen.

Joe Brown won the ROC qualifier in the division over Burns and Josh Lloyd.

In the Street Stock ROC qualifier, held over from June 16, Lee Sharpsteen crossed the line first, ahead of Cricket Clonch and Charlie Sharpsteen. The same three crossed in the same order in the regular show.

Jimmy Zacharias won the Sportsman Modified feature over John Wilbur and Tony Hanbury.


Five Mile Point Speedway

Stewart Friesen won the Modified feature, edging Justin Holland and Mike Nagel, Jr., at Kirkwood, NY, on July 2.

In Street Stocks, Jason Butler took the checkers ahead of Ryan Stone and Todd Sutliff.

Scott Bennett won the IMCA Modified feature. Shawn Bruce was second, followed by Gary Dence.

In Lightning Cat Expert action, Dave Simms picked up the win over Andy Brigham and Andy Colwell.

Chris Carman won the Lightning Cat Novice feature over Scott Heeman and Wendy Elliott.

Ryan Higgs won the 600 c.c. Modified feature. Cory Coons was second, followed by Brian Mady.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.