OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing Roundup: Drivers Scores First Dunn Hill Win


Dunn Hill 2 Speedway celebrated Christmas in July during its July 29 racing program and it turned out to be a gift-filled night for three of the feature winners.

Jason Sullivan won his first Dunn Hill feature in the IMCA Modified division, holding off Eddie Sites and Victor McNeal for the victory.

Kurtis Benjamin and Bobby Maynard both celebrated their birthdays with feature wins in the Factory Stock and Street Stock, respectively.

Benjamin led Shannon Oswald and Mike Chilson to the checkers in the Factory Stock feature.

Maynard inherited the lead when mechanical woes sidelined leader Ricky Davis, Jr. Ben Hulslander and Rich Sharpsteen completed the top three in the feature.

Wyalusing’s Andrew Dorman took Front Wheel Drive honors for the sixth time this season. Klem Underwood was second, followed by Marcus Wood.

In Mini Stocks, Shane Brown held off Eric Ellsworth and Tyler Belcher for the win.

This Friday is the Spalding Foundation for Injured Drivers Night at the Monroeton facility.


Penn Can Speedway

At Susquehanna, PA, on July 29, Brian Weaver raced to victory in the Modified feature over Kevin Hartnett and Billy Thornton.

Dan Snyder won the Late Model finale. Tracy Gregory and Curt Tunilo, Jr. completed the top three.

Shane Wolf, Jr. was the Street Stock winner over Ryan Stone and Randy Gates.

In Four Cylinders, Nick Grist took the checkers over Joe Warner and Lanson Albanese.

Lynn Highhouse won the Northeast Vintage Modified feature. Mike Murphy and Jim Hilmire were second and third, respectively.

Clark Bartholomew won the Mid State Antique Car feature over Jeff Ackerman and Rich Locklin.

Highhouse was one of the many new members of the Penn Can Hall of Fame Class of 2011 inducted Friday.

Other inductees included track founder LaGrande “Pappy” Beaven, Seward Rice, Jack Romain, Stubby Stephens, James Bonham, Joe Donahue, Sr., Roger Beagell, Eddie Rafferty, Carl Nagel, Chuck Akulis, George Watson, Jeff Rudalavage, Dick Longstreet, Randy Decker, Warren Stone, Jim Sherman, Don Beagell, Gary Beagell, Cal Arthur and Jane Kennerup.


Shangri-La II Speedway

On July 30, Jimmy Zacharias won the Sportsman feature at Tioga Center, NY. Tony Hanbury was second, followed by Bryan Sherwood.

Scott Nurmi took Late Model honors over Jim Lamoreaux and Matt Barndt.

Lee Sharpsteen won the Street Stock feature ahead of Charlie Sharpsteen and Cricket Clonch.


Five Mile Point Speedway

At Kirkwood, NY, on July 30, Jamie Batzel held off Justin Holland and Mike Nagel, Jr. to win the Modified feature.

In IMCA Modified action, Joe Cole took the checkers over Scott Bennett and Mike Wilmot.

Chris Wood won the Sportsman feature ahead of P.J. Goodwin and Nick Petrilak.

Shane Wolf pocketed the $1,000-to-win purse in the Street Stock feature. Ryan Stone was second, followed by Rich Talada.

Duane Kinne won the Lightning Cat Expert feature over Dave Husney and Dave Jenkins.

Josh Wilbur won the Lightning Cat Novice race over Scott Heeman and Tucker Harpell.

Rich Tobias won the SpeedSTR feature with Gary Hieber and Anthony Perrego finishing second and third, respectively.

 Wyalusing’s Andrew Dorman won the Front Wheel Drive feature at Dunn Hill 2 Speedway in Monroeton on Friday, July 29. Photo Courtesy of D&J Fotos Wyalusing’s Andrew Dorman won the Front Wheel Drive feature at Dunn Hill 2 Speedway in Monroeton on Friday, July 29. Photo Courtesy of D&J Fotos

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.