OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing Roundup: Dunn Hill 2 Beats Rain on Busy Night


Despite threatening skies, Dunn Hill 2 Speedway in Monroeton completed a busy schedule, including an appearance by the Tobias Speedster division on Friday, July 8.

Billy VanPelt won the Speedster feature over Brandon Rahmer and Paul Lotier, Jr.

In Street Stocks, Rich Talada took advantage of an accident involving the two front-runners and took the checkered flag. He assumed the lead when Chad Ely and Ernie Martin made contact, forcing both off the track. Josh Ames and Matt Vinson completed the top three.

Shawn Bruce survived a stiff challenge from Eddie Sites to claim the IMCA Modified checkers. Eddie McKernan finished third.

Tyler Belcher outlasted J.R. Bush after a late caution to win the Mini Stock feature. Brett Gleason was third.

A full field of 22 Front Wheel Drives battled for the $500 winner’s purse. Klem Underwood pocketed the cash, edging out Andy Brigham and Chris Conrad.

In Factory Stocks, Brad Sites took the lead after an early-race caution. Mike Chilson and Tyler Deeghan rounded out the top three.


Chemung Speedrome

At Chemung, NY, on July 8, Jimmy Zacharias won the Modified feature. Jody Buckley and Daren Scherer completed the top three.

Mike Alcaro continued his dominance in the Legends division, posting another win. Scherer was second, followed by Van Michael.

Mike Nichols swept a pair twin-15 Super Stock features. Jeff Goodwin and Jeremy Potrzbowski were second and third, respectively, in the first race. Terry Potrzbowski and Jeremy Potrzbowski rounded out the top three in the second race.

Tony Gulo won the Four Cylinder finale over Archie Haner and Gene Purvis.

Anthony Reforgiato defeated David French in the Bandolero race.

There is no racing slated for the track this Friday. Action will resume on July 22.


Five Mile Point Speedway

On July 5, Billy Decker won the Race of Champions (ROC) Modified feature at Kirkwood, NY.

Stewart Friesen was second, followed by Larry Wright.

In the ROC Sportsman feature, Nick Petrilak won the feature over Chris Wood and James Cornell.

Andy Brigham won the Colossal Cat Challenge. Nick Griest was second, followed by Dan Wood.

On July 9, Dan Creeden won the Modified feature, followed by Jim Gabriel, Jr. and Justin Holland.

Petrilak was the Sportsman winner with Jerry Tonti and Chris Wood completing the top three.

Shane Wolf, Jr. took the Street Stock checkers ahead of Todd Sutliff and Jason Butler.

Dave Simms won the Lightning Cat Expert feature. Jeff Hayes and Joe Warner were second and third, respectively.

Chris Carman edged Scott Heeman and Tucker Harpell in the Lightning Cat Novice feature. Harpell was also the 11-13 winner in the Kiddie Cat race. Jason Colwell took 8-10 year-old honors.

Rob Warner won the Figure Eight race over Randy Richards.

Leigh Fuller held off Wendy Elliott and Nichole Bausenwein in the League of Their Own race.


Shangri-La II Speedway

At Tioga Center, NY, on July 9, Matt Hirschman won the ROC Modified feature over Kyle Ebersole and Erick Rudolph.

Jimmy Zacharias won the Sportsman feature over Rusty Smith and Bryon Sherwood.

Kyle Hieber won the Speed STRs finale with Chris Stockham and Paul Lotier, Jr. rounding out the top three.

Lee Sharpsteen took the Street Stock checkers over Gil Sharpsteen and Billy Coyle.

In Late Models, Matt Barhdt held off Jim Lamoreaux and Joe Brown for the victory.


Penn Can Speedway

Penn Can, located in Susquehanna, PA, cancelled its slate on July 8 because of rain.

The track will resume activity this Friday with a regular show.

It will also host the Summer Nationals for small cars on Sunday, July 17, a qualifier for the Labor Day Weekend Northeast Small Car Classic.

The field will include Xcel 600 Modifieds, 600 Microsprints, 270 Microsprints, Slingshots and the Penn Can Four Cylinders in a qualifier for the October King of the Can.


Skyview Drags

At Tioga Center, NY, on July 1, Tom Samsel won the Super Pro final.

Other winners included Tim Zyla (Pro), Chrissy Klein (Bike/Sled), Tony Zangari (Street Money), Gary French (Street Trophy), Teresa Kurtz (TCR) and Matt Forbes (Junior Dragster).

In the July 2 eliminations, Chuck White won the Super Pro final.

Other winners included Bruce Sessions (Pro), Matt Luke (Bike/Sled), French (Street Money), Charlie Fulmer (Street Trophy), Brandon Searcy (TCR) and Kimberly Klein (Junior Dragster).

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.