OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing Roundup: Elys Win at Dunn Hill


At Monroeton, Chad Ely and Ernie Martin split a pair of Street Stock features at Dunn Hill 2 Speedway on June 10.

Ely won the rain-delayed feature from May 27, while Martin prevailed in the regularly-scheduled feature.

Harry Ely, Chad’s father, also visited victory lane, winning the IMCA Modified feature.

Other winners included Eric Ellsworth in Mini Stocks, Marcus Wood in Front Wheel Drive and Shannon Oswald in Factory Stock.

In the exhibition mechanics race, Allen Carnrike, driving Tim Perham’s Factory Stock, took the checkers.


Chemung Speedrome

On June 10, at Chemung, NY, Jimmy Zacharias won for the second straight week in the Modified division, leading Rusty Smith and Lee Sharpsteen to the checkers.

In Legends action, Mike Alcaro also notched his second win. Daren Scherer and Brandon DeBrakeleer completed the top three.

Terry Potrzebowski won the Super Stock feature over Mike Nichols and Jeff Goodwin.

Milton Price also became a two-time winner with his victory in the Four Cylinders over Tony Gullo and Gene Purvis.

Anthony Reforgiato defeated David French to win the Bandoleros race.


Penn Can Speedway

At Susquehanna, PA, on June 7, Billy Decker won the Clash at the Can Race of Champions Dirt Modified feature. Danny Tyler, who led 34 laps before losing the lead to Decker with 12 laps to go, was second, followed by Jimmy Phelps.

Harry Marvin, III won the Race of Champions Street Stock feature, holding off Butch Green and Ken Sparks, Jr.

Alec Bartholomew won the Xcel 600 Modified feature. Richie Hitzler was second, followed by Jeromy Guistwite.

On June 10, Rich Green swept a pair of Street Stock features. Brenton Miller and Shane Wolf, Jr. completed the top three in the first race. Wolf and Ryan Stone were second and third, respectively, in the second race.

Gary Cleveland and Rob Warner split a pair of Factory Stock features. Warner and Lanson Albanese followed Cleveland across the line in the first race. George Brown and Darl Ellis, Jr. ran second and third, respectively, in the second race.

Ben Whitaker won the Late Model feature over Dan Snyder and Paul Strohl.

Jeff Crambo won the Sportsman feature over Mike Nagel, Jr. and Adam McGeorge.

Andy Brigham took the Four Cylinder checkers over Nick Grist and Justin Welch.


Shangri-La II

On June 12, at Tioga Center, NY, the track finally opened to racing after four rainouts, including Saturday’s scheduled show.

T.J. Zacharias won the Sportsman feature. Jimmy Zacharias was second and John Wilbur was third. Wyalusing’s Paul Johnson was sixth.

Gary Hieber took the checkers in the Speed STR’s, followed by Kyle Hiever and Paul Lotier.

Jim Lamoreaux won in Late Models. Jerry Dineen was second, followed by Joe Brown.

In Street Stocks, Lee Sharpsteen was first, followed by Gil Sharpsteen and Cricket Clonch.


Skyview Drags

At Tioga Center, NY, on May 28-29, the 1/8-mile drag strip held two days of competition.

On Saturday, May 28, Randi Teed won the Junior Dragster final. Jared Baker was the Second Chance winner in the division.

Joe Morrison won the Northeast Timing Organization (NETO) Comp final. Lee Mills won the NETO Nostalgia final.

Bruce Rowan won the Pro final. Other winners included Randy Teed (Bike/Sled), Howie Conklin (Street Money and Street Trophy) and Christian Taylor (Teen Championship Racing).

Sunday’s finals saw Randi Teed repeat in Junior Dragsters. Kimberly Klein was the Second Chance winner.

Other winners included Chuck Fish (Super Pro), Jason Crawford (Bike/Sled), Roger Seidel (Street Money), Gary French (Street Trophy) and Taylor (Teen Championship Racing).


Five Mile Point Speedway

On June 13, at Kirkwood, NY, Billy Decker won the Modified feature, earning a starting spot in the Race of Champions Southern Tier 100 at Five Mile Point on Oct. 29.

All of the top 10 finishers earned a spot in various major races throughout the Northeast.

Tim McCreadie was second, followed by Danny Johnson in third.

Jeff Crambo won the Sportsman feature over Vinny DeCicco and Ryan Olsommer.

In Street Stocks, Bob Buono took the checkers over Shane Wolf, Jr. and Ryan Stone.

Rich McNeal won the IMCA Modified feature. Mike Wilmot was second, followed by Scott Bennett.

Andy Brigham won the Lightning Cat feature over Nick Griest and Troy Kress.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.