OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing Roundup: Maynard Sweeps WVMP Microsprints


Towanda’s Bob Maynard became the first driver to win 270 Microsprint and 600 Microsprint features in the same night at Wyalusing Valley Motorsports Park.

Maynard led flag-to-flag to win the 600 feature at the Homets Ferry track on June 4. Craig Fox and Jordan Tittle rounded out the top three.

In the 270 finale, Maynard again led all the laps despite a spirited battle with Tittle and third-place finisher Austin Bishop.

The Maynard clan added another win with Dalton Maynard’s victory in Senior Slingshots over his cousin Jake Maynard and Collin Hadlock.

Alex Shaffer took the checkered flag in the Junior Slingshot feature over Jared Zionkowski and Skylar Middendorf.

Headlining the kart portion of the program was a “Clash of the Clones” race. Logan Terry took the victory after Rob Bahr dropped out after losing a muffler.

Steve Potochney won the Animal feature over Wayne Miller and Bob Coveney.

In the Flathead final, Scott Lamphere held off Jay Abbott and Coveney.

A large field of 19 karts competed in the SportsMen feature with Rodney McConnell outlasting Nick Funk and Doug Lantz for the win.

Ryan Funk won the SportsKids race over Hadlock and Keith Lamphere.

In Rookie Purple, Craig Smith took the checkers over Conner Davis and Destiny Powell.

Matt Addonna won the Novice Blue feature over Seth Anderson and Dom Rogers.

Because of low kart counts, the track has dropped the Junior Gold division for the remainder of the season.


Dunn Hill 2 Speedway

At Monroeton, on June 3, a full slate of racing was completed, including make-up features from the rain-shortened May 27 program.

In the IMCA Modified make-up race, Ray McClure took the checkers over J.T. McKernan and Harry Ely.

Eddie Sites came back to win the regularly-slated IMCA Mod feature over Eddie McKernan and Shawn Bruce.

Mike Chilson swept both Factory Stock features. Shannon Oswald and Frank Petroski completed the top three in the make-up race. Stan Matthews and Petroski finished second and third, respectively, in the regular race.

Tyler Belcher won the Mini Stock feature over Travis Parks and Mike Navone.

In Street Stocks, Ben Hulslander won the feature over Bobby Maynard and Gene Sharpsteen.

Andrew Dorman won the Front Wheel Drive feature. Kenny Underwood and Klem Underwood completed the top three.


Penn Can Speedway

On June 3, at Susquehanna, PA, two make-up features from the rain-shortened May 27 program were held.

Alex Stanton won the make-up Sportsman feature, edging Corey Ziegler and Mike Nagel, Jr.

In the regular feature, Jeff Crambo took the checkers over Adam McGeorge and Casey Pavlick.

Joe Warner swept both Four Cylinder features with Andy Brigham and Andy Colwell second and third in both races.

Brett Tonkin won the Modified feature over Rusty Smith and Bobby Trapper.

Curt Tunilo, Jr. was the Late Model winner over Tracy Gregory and Steve Deinhardt.

Shane Wolf, Jr. took the Street Stock victory. Rich Talada and Doug Polhamus completed the top three.


Chemung Speedrome

At Chemung, NY, on June 3, Jimmy Zacharias won the B-Modified feature.

Other winners included Mike Alcaro in Legends, Milton Price in Four-Cylinders and Mike Nichols in Street Stocks.


Five Mile Point Speedway

Stewart Friesen won the Modified feature over Brian Puckett and Nick Rochinski at Kirkwood, NY, on June 4.

Nick Petrilak took Sportsman honors over Justin Andrews and Mike Austin.

Jason Butler held off Todd Sutliff and Tyler Yeagle to win the Street Stock finale.

Scott Bennett took the IMCA Modified checkers over Brian Weaver and Joe Cole.

Andy Brigham defeated Kenny Underwood and Duane Kinne to win the Lightning Cat Expert feature.

Chris Carman outlasted Scott Heeman and Adam Gilbert for Lightning Cat Novice honors.

Leigh Fuller defeated Theresa Zawisky to win the League of Their Own feature.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.