OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing Roundup: Rain Again Disrupts Slates


Wet weather continued to plague the local auto racing scene last weekend.

Dunn Hill 2 Speedway in Monroeton and Penn Can Speedway in Susquehanna, PA, both postponed Friday’s scheduled shows.

Chemung Speedrome, which had hoped to open Sunday, was forced to postpone until May 27 because it has been impossible to prepare the facility’s roads, parking lots and pit areas due to the wet weather.

Shangri-La II in Tioga Center, NY, also postponed Sunday’s scheduled season opener.


Wyalusing Valley

Motorsports Park

At Homets Ferry, on May 21, three-time 270 Microsprint champion Jordan Tittle led from the pole to win the feature.

Gene Beadle was second, followed by Bob Maynard.

Brett Smith held off Tittle in the 600 Microsprint feature. Austin Ely was third.

In All Star Slingshots, Jake Maynard, piloting a car carrying his father Billy’s famous No. 69, won the feature over Collin Hadlock and Dalton Maynard.

Hadlock bounced back to win the Stage One Modified feature.  Anthony Schloss and Matt Mattern completed the top three.

Jared Zionkowski won an exciting Junior Slingshot feature. Alex Shaffer led the first 10 laps, yielding the point to Skylar Middendorf. The two drivers made contact twice as they battled for the lead, but during a caution on lap 13, Middendorf pulled off with a flat tire. Zionkowski passed Shaffer for the lead on lap 20. Shaffer and Kamdin Maby completed the top three.

In Youth kart action, Conner Davis won the Rookie Purple division over Craig Smith and Cody Kershner.

Seth Anderson took the Novice Blue checkers with Dom Rogers and Kara Chapman completing the top three.

Hadlock notched his second win of the night with a victory in the SportsKids feature. Ryan Funk was second, followed by Keith Lamphere.

Rodney McConnell took SportsMen honors over Nick Funk and Rob Bahr.

Bahr did win the Stock Appearing Clone feature. Logan Terry was second, ahead of Tyler Chapman.

Colt Snyder defeated Scott Lamphere and Jay Abbott to win the Flathead feature.

Steve Potochney edged Tyler Chapman and Wayne Miller in the Animal feature.


Five Mile Point Speedway

On May 22, at Kirkwood, NY, Jeff VanSteenburgh won the CRSA Sprint Car feature over Brett Jaycox and John Virgilo.

Rich Green topped the Race of Champions Street Stock feature with Bob Buono and Brenton Miller completing the top three.

Jim Housworth took the Sportsman checkers ahead of Mike Sabia and Matt Hitchcock.

Cody Coons won the 600 C.C. Modified feature over George Loux and Ryan Higgs.

Andy Brigham continued to dominate the Lightning Cat Open division, winning the feature over Dennis Keesler and Buddy French.


Skyview Drags

At Tioga Center, NY, on May 21, Kathy Kiekel won the Super Pro final in the season debut for the 1/-8-mile drag strip.

Other winners included Cody Reome (Junior Dragsters), Alyssa Cody (Junior Dragsters-Second Chance), Teresa Kurtz (Teen Championship Racing), Joe Santucci (Street Trophy), Howie Conklin (Street Money), Brent Garcia (Bike/Sled), Mike LaRose (Pro) and Kenneth Roberts (Open Comp).

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.