OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing Roundup: Slingshot Tours Visit WVMP


Wyalusing Valley Motorsports Park hosted an appearance by the All-Star Mid-Atlantic Gold and Junior National Slingshot Tours on June 25.

Simon Egan won the All-Star Slingshot feature at the Homets Ferry facility, holding off Shannon Smith and Danny Buccafusca. Dalton and Jake Maynard completed the top five.

In the Junior Slingshots, Tyler Johnston survived a tight battle with track regulars Jared Zionkowski and Alex Shaffer. Zionkowski finished second, followed by Leo McGurrin, Dillon Martin and Abbey Price. Shaffer spun on lap 19 and finished eleventh.

A large field of 25 600 Microsprints was on hand, with Jordan Tittle claiming the victory over Stan Tykarski, John Zionkowski, Craig Fox and Chad VanHorn.

Tittle also won the 270 Microsprint feature, completing his second back-to-back sweeps in the small cars this season. Austin Bishop was second, followed by Troy Whitesel, Gene Beadle and Eric Leonard.

Mike Ely won the Stock Appearing Clone kart feature over Bob Schultz, Tyler Chapman, Logan Terry and Derek Chapman.

In Flathead action, Colt Snyder won the feature with his father, Cal Snyder, in second. Scott Lamphere, Jay Abbott and Bob Coveney completed the top five.

Steve Potochney continued to dominate the Animal class. Dale Kuhne came the closest of any competitor this year to beating Potochney. Wayne Miller, Tyler Chapman and Scott Lamphere completed the top five.

A field of 21 Sportsmen karts was on hand with Nick Funk taking the checkers over Scott Lamphere, Rodney McConnell, Logan Terry and Kyle Traver.

Ryan Funk won the Sportskids feature over Jaye Winemiller, Collin Hadlock, Keith Lamphere and Alex Shaffer.

In Novice Blue action, Matt Addonna took the checkers over Seth Anderson, Dom Rogers, Jacob Doyle and Kara Chapman.

Craig Smith won the Rookie Purple feature over Doug Newbigging, Conner Davis, Destiny Powell and Caleb Hadlock.

The track will be silent this weekend so the staff can enjoy the Independence Day holiday.

Action will resume on July 9 with the popular Spalding Foundation for Injured Drivers Charity Race.


Dunn Hill 2 Speedway

At Monroeton, on June 24, rain shorted the program, which included a make-up race for the Front Wheel Drive division.

The make-up race was run with Andrew Dorman taking the checkers over Marcus Wood and Mike Ely.

However, the regularly-scheduled feature, along with the Street Stock feature, was postponed when heavy rain hit the area. They will be made up at a later date.

In the Mini Stock feature, Eric Ellsworth was the winner over Doug Colton and Brett Gleason.

Glenn Layfield, a newcomer to the track, won the Factory Stock feature over Donny Burgess and Mike Chilson.

Victory McNeal claimed the IMCA Modified feature with Harry Ely second.


Chemung Speedrome

On June 24, at Chemung, NY, Daren Scherer won the Modified feature over J.R. Kent and Jimmy Zacharias.

Mike Alcaro won the Legends feature over Scherer and A.J. Griffin.

Archie Haner topped the Four Cylinder finale, followed by Tony Gullo and Gene Purvis.

In Super Stocks, Mike Nichols took the checkers over Terry Potrzebowski and John Lane.


Penn Can Speedway

At Susquehanna, PA, on June 24, Kevin Hartnett won the Modified feature over Joey Colsten and Bob Trapper.

Steve Deinhardt won the Late Model feature. Ben Whitaker was second, followed by Tracy Gregory.

In Sportsman action, Mike Nagel, Jr. took the checkered flag ahead of Alex Stanton and Adam McGeorge.

Brenton Miller won the Street Stock feature with Rich Green and Ryan Stone completing the top three.

Andy Brigham took Four Cylinder honors over Joe Warner and Andy Colwell.

In Factory Stocks, Rob Warner defeated George Brown and Gary Cleveland.


Shangri-La II Speedway

Lee Sharpsteen won the Street Stock feature over Cricket Clonch and Billy Coyle at Tioga Center, NY, on June 25

Tony Hanbury won the Sportsman feature. John Wilbur was second, followed by T.J. Zacharias.

The Late Model feature was halted after 11 laps because of rain with Jerry Dineen leading. The race will be completed during the July 2 show.


Five Mile Point Speedway

At Kirkwood, NY, on June 25, Stewart Friesen won the Modified feature on Heath Memorial Night. Jim Gabriel, Jr. was second, followed by Nick Rochinski.

In the Sportsman feature, Jeff Crambo took the checkers over Mike Loney and Chris Wood.

Ryan Stone won the Street Stock feature with Shane Wolf, Jr. and Randy Marsh completing the top three.

Mike Wilmot won the IMCA Modified feature, followed by Scott Bennett and K.C. Cole.

Andy Brigham took the Lightning Cat Expert feature with Andy Colwell and Travis Hayes completing the top three.

In Lightning Cat Novice action, Chris Carman was the winner over Scott Heeman and Tucker Harpell.

Lynn Highhouse won the Vintage Car feature with Bob Snyder second and Ray Preston third.


Skyview Drags

At Tioga Center, NY, on June 25, New Albany’s Shane Garinger won the Pro class, defeating Tim Zyla in the finals.

Laceyville’s Shanon Fenton was the runner-up in both the Street Trophy and Street Money classes. Tim Carper won the Trophy title and Paul Cody captured Money final.

In Super Pro, Carl Drake, Sr., defeated Don Kiekel.

Chrissy Klein won the Bike/Sled final over Brent Garcia.

In Teen Championship Racing, Teresa Kurtz defeated Brandon Searcy.

Randi Teed won the Junior Dragster final over Cody Reome. In the second-chance race for first-round losers, Jared Baker defeated Haley Teed.

In the special Girlz Gone Racing event, Nancy Mangino defeated  Julia Gallick.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.