OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing Roundup: Tittle Sweeps WVMP Microsprints


Jordan Tittle claimed a pair of victories at Wyalusing Valley Motorsports Park on June 18, sweeping both the 270 Microsprint and 600 Microsprint features.

In the 270 Microsprint finale, Tittle edged out Gene Beadle and Eric Leonard.

Tittle had to work for his 600 Microspint win, passing teammate Austin Ely on lap 21 en route to the victory. Bobby Maynard was third.

Joel Smith inherited the lead of the Stage One Modified feature when Brad Arnold fell out of the race after leading the first nine laps. Collin Hadlock was second, followed by Kyle Strohl.

Will Eastman won the Senior Slingshot feature over Dalton Maynard and Nick Molyneux.

Alex Shaffer won the Junior Slingshot feature. Skylar Middendorf and Jared Zionkowski completed the top three.

In the Adult kart divisions, Tyler Chapman was a two-time winner, capturing the Stock-Appearing Clones and Flathead features. Mike Ely and Logan Terry followed Chapman across the line in the Clone finale. Colt Snyder and Jay Abbott completed the Flathead top three.

Steve Potochney won the Animal feature over Wayne Miller and Scott Lamphere.

Nick Funk topped the Sportsmen kart feature. Lamphere and Doug Lantz were second and third, respectively.

Hadlock won the Sportskids feature over Ryan Funk and Shaffer.

In the Rookie Purple feature, Cody Kershner spun and won. After his lap 11 mishap, Kershner beat Destiny Powell and Craig Smit to the line.

Matt Addonna won the Novice Blue feature. Seth Anderson and Dom Rogers completed the top three.


Dunn Hill 2 Speedway

At Monroeton, on June 15, Chris Fleming won the Empire State Series IMCA Modified feature. Eddie Sites was second, followed by Kevan Cook.

Gregg Turner took the checkered flag in the 40-lap Front Wheel Drive enduro. Mike Ely was second, followed by Kenny Benjamin, Jr.

On June 17, J.R. Bush won the Mini Stock feature that was postponed from earlier in the season, edging Eric Ellsworth.

Ellsworth came back later in the night to pick up the win in the regularly slated feature. Brett Gleason was second.

In Factory Stocks, Brad Sites held off Bubba Peters for the win.

Eddie Sites, Brad’s brother, picked up the win in the IMCA Modified race. Eddie McKernan was second.

Wyalusing’s Chad Ely won the Street Stock feature, clinching a spot in the Race of Champions race at Five Mile Point Speedway slated for October. Ernie Martin was the runner-up.

Mike Ely joined his nephew in victory lane with a win in the Front Wheel Drive class.


Penn Can Speedway

On June 17, at Susquehanna, PA, Dan Pompey won the Modified feature. Darwin Greene was second, followed by Butch Tittle.

Shane Wolf, Jr. won the Street Stock feature over Ryan Stone and Rich Talada.

Andy Brigham added another feature win in the Four Cylinder division. Joe Warner was second, followed by Andy Colwell.

Mike Nagel, Jr. won the Sportsman feature over Adam McGeorge and Butch Green.

Tyler Rice won the CRSA sprint car feature. Jamie Christian and Jeff Van Steenburg completed the top three.


Five Mile Point Speedway

At Kirkwood, NY, on June 18, Kevin Bates took the checkered flag in the Modified feature. Stewart Friesen was second, followed by Eric Palmer.

P.J. Goodwin won the Sportsman feature over Mike Loney and Billy Spoonhower.

Shane Wolf, Jr. captured the Street Stock feature. Rich Powell was second, followed by Tyler Yeagle.

In IMCA Modifieds, Scott Bennett was the winner, followed by Gary Smith and Jay Hoyt.

Andy Brigham won the Lightning Cat Expert feature over Travis Hayes and Duane Kinne.

 Chris Carman was the Lightning Cat Novice winner. Scott Heeman and Josh Wilbur completed the top three.



Chemung Speedrome

Jimmy Zacharias collected a pair of wins, sweeping both ends of a Twin 30-lap features at Chemung, NY, on June 19.

J.R. Kent and T.J. Potrzebowski followed Zacharias across the line in the first feature. Daren Scherer and Kent completed the top three in the second feature.

Scherer won the Legends feature ahead of Cody Frantz and A.J. Griffin.

Terry Potrzebowski won the Super Stock feature over Jeremy Potrzebowski and John Lane.

Archie Haner took the Four- Cylinder feature. Tony Gullo and Gene Purvis were second and third, respectively.

Anthony Riforgiato edged David French in the Bandolero race.


Shangri-La II Motor Speedway

At Tioga Center, on June 16, Jimmy Zacharias won the rain-shortened Sportsman feature over Tony Hanbury and Andy Jankowiak.

Only 29 of the 40 scheduled laps were run before the skies opened. A 50-lap Street Stock race was also postponed.

Photo Courtesy of D& J Fotos. Mike Ely (77) battles Brandon Hillyard (62) and Kenny Underwood (16) in their Front Wheel Drive cars at Dunn Hill 2 Speedway on Friday, June 17. Photo Courtesy of D& J Fotos. Mike Ely (77) battles Brandon Hillyard (62) and Kenny Underwood (16) in their Front Wheel Drive cars at Dunn Hill 2 Speedway on Friday, June 17. 

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.