OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing Roundup: VanHorn Wins Again at WVMP


Despite oppressive heat, area race tracks conducted their slated programs last weekend.

Shangri-La II, Skyview Drags and Five Mile Point were idle this week because of the Race of Champions weekend at Oswego, NY.


Wyalusing Valley

Motorsports Park

At Homets Ferry, on July 23, Chad VanHorn found victory lane for the third time this season in the 600 Microsprints.

Austin Ely was second, followed by Jordan Tittle.

In 270 Microsprints, Bob Maynard took the lead on lap six en route to the victory. Tittle was second, followed by J.J. Uliana.

Uliana Race Products offered cash bonuses to the Hard Charger of both Microsprint races. Tittle pocketed the money from both races. In the 600 Microsprint feature, he started 14th in the feature and worked his way toward the front to earn the bonus. He began the 270 finale in 13th.

Collin Hadlock went flag-to-flag to win the All Star Slingshot feature. Jake Maynard was second, followed by Nick Molyneux.

In Junior Slingshots, Alex Shaffer survived a bumping incident between early leader Kamdin Maby and Leo McGurrin with two laps left, to take the lead for good. Jared Zionkowski was second, while Maby was awarded third place.

In kart action, the Animals were the highlighted division with a 30-lap feature.

Josh Garbera prevented track regular Steve Potochney from pocketing the $125 winner’s purse. Jeff Fessenden was third.

Scott Lamphere won the Flathead feature over Carl Abbott and Dave Hazard.

Mike Ely took the Clone feature, finishing ahead of Bob Schultz and Logan Terry.

A solid field of 16 Sportsmen karts were on hand with Geoff Arnold picking up the victory. Nick Funk was second, followed by Kyle Traver.

In Sportskids action, Ryan Funk took the checkers ahead of Hadlock and Keith Lamphere.

Destiny Powell finished second on the track during the Rookie Purple race, but was awarded the victory—her second straight—when the leader at the checkers failed to pass post-race technical inspection. Cody Kershner was second, followed by Caleb Hadlock.

Dom Rogers won the Novice Blue feature over Matt Addonna and Seth Anderson.

This week’s featured division will be the 600 Microsprints, who will race 40 laps for a $400 winner’s purse.


Dunn Hill 2 Speedway

On July 20, at Monroeton, Brian White won the Sportsman feature, a qualifying race for the Southern Tier 100 later this season at Five Mile Point Speedway. Nick Petrilak was second, followed by Eddie White.

Marcus Wood won the Front Wheel Drive feature over Nick Wesneski and Cody Baker.

Doug Colton took the Mini Stock checkers ahead of Shane Brown and J.R. Bush.

Despite scorching temperatures, 60 cars showed up to race for the July 22 show, which included a make-up of a rain-delayed Front Wheel Drive feature from earlier in the season.

In the make-up race, Trevor Belcher picked up his first-ever victory over Klem Underwood and Chris Conrad.

Jeremiah Clonch won the regularly-scheduled feature, scoring his first victory at the track. Mike Ely was second, followed by Marcus Wood.

Eddie Sites won the IMCA Modified feature, holding off a stiff challenge from Shawn Bruce and Ed McKernan.

Bobby Maynard won the Street Stock feature over Ricky Davis, Sr. and Bill Price, Jr.

Bush took Mini Stock honors over Mike Navone and Eric Ellsworth.


Penn Can Speedway

At Susquehanna, PA, on July 22, Dan Pompey won the Modified feature. Al Rudalavage was second, followed by Kevin Hartnett.

Curt Tunilo, Jr. took Late Model honors over Tracey Gregory and Paul Strohl.

Mike Nagel, Jr. won the Sportsman feature ahead of Adam MacGeorge and Alex Stanton.

In Street Stocks, Shane Wolf, Jr. took the checkers over Rich Talada and Ken Sparks, Jr.

Nick Grist won the Four Cylinder race over Andy Brigham and Joe Warner.

Rob Warner won the Factory Stock finale. Buck Mills, Jr. was second, followed by George Brown.


Chemung Speedrome

J.R. Kent won the Modified feature at Chemung, NY, on July 22, followed by Jimmy Zacharias and Zack Curren.

Matt Pappa won the Legends feature over Mike Alcaro and Stephen Hershey.

Jeff Goodwin took the Super Stock checkers ahead of John Lane and Mike Nichols.

Tony Gullo won the Four Cylinder feature. Brandon Ameigh was second, followed by Phil Haner.

Anthony Riforgiato won the Bandolero race. David French and Alexandria Smith completed the top three.


Race of Champions

At Oswego, NY, area racer Lee Sharpsteen won the Race of Champion Super Stock feature.

Zane Zeiner won the Modified 200. Jimmy Zacharias and T.J. Potrzebowski, two area regulars, were fifth and sixth, respectively.

Other winners included Chris Perley (ISMA Super Modifieds), Kreig Heroth (Small Block Super Modified), Scott Shafer (Mini Stock) and Ray Graham (Super Modified).

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.