OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing Roundup: WVMP Opens Season


Despite threatening skies after an early-morning rain, Wyalusing Valley Motorsports Park opened the 2011 campaign on May 14 with full fields in most divisions.

John Braim topped a field of 15 270 Microsprints, collecting the $400 purse. Denny Rinehimer was second, followed by Gene Beadle.

In the 600 Microsprints, Chad VanHorn took the lead on lap 21 after Austin Ely dropped out with mechanical issues. Brett Smith was second in the 14-car field, followed by Jordan Tittle.

Jake Maynard survived a wild Senior Slingshot feature.

Dalton Maynard and Carl Bittenbender swapped the lead early in the race. After Bittenbender assumed the lead on lap 12, he spun after possible contact from Maynard. Several laps later, Bittenbender spun Maynard. The spinout damaged Maynard’s clutch, while Bittenbender retired from the race rather than go to the rear of the field.

Cody Fassett assumed the lead, but Jake Maynard’s late pass stole the victory. Colin Hadlock was third.

Alex Shaffer won a more sedate Junior Slingshot finale, holding off Jared Zionkowski and Skylar Middendorf.

In the Adult kart divisions, Steve Potochney won the Animal feature over Wayne Miller and Bob Coveney.

Logan Terry became a first-time winner, capturing the Stock-appearing Clone feature over Josh McMicken and Rod Bahr.

Sctott Lamphere took the Flathead feature over Tyler Chapman and Coveney.

Eighteen karts were on hand for the Sportsman division.

Nick Funk won the feature with Bahr second and Terry third.

The race was marred by a pileup early that saw Krissy Baldwin’s kart drive under an airborne Dale Anderson. Neither driver was injured.

Ryan Funk won the Sportskid feature over Hadlock and Keith Lamphere.

In the Youth divisions, Middendorf was the only Junior Gold driver.

Matt Addonna won the Novice Blue feature over Seth Anderson and Dom Rogers.

Craig Smith was the Rookie Purple winner with Connor Davis second and Destiny Powell third.


Dunn Hill 2 Speedway

At Monroeton, on May 13, Wyalusing’s Andrew Dorman won the Front Wheel Drive feature, edging Mike Ely by inches at the flag.

Dorman assumed the lead when mechanical problems sidelined early leader Klem Underwood.

Rick Sinsabaugh was third in the feature.

Eddie Sites passed Harry Ely late in the IMCA Modified feature to pick up the victory. Ely was second, followed by J.T. McKernan.

In Factory Stocks, Kurtis Benjamin was awarded the win when the first-place car failed technical inspection. Frank Petrowski was second, followed by Tim Perham.

Ernie Martin won the Street Stock feature, followed by Bobby Maynard and Bill Price, Jr.

In Mini Stocks, Gregg Turner took the checkers with Eric Ellsworth second and Mike Koser third.

Price, Jr. won the special mechanics race run  in Front Wheel Drive cars.


Penn Can Speedway

At Susquehanna, PA, on May 13, Kevin Harnett won the Modified feature, defeating Al Rudalavage and Bob Trapper to the checkered flag.

Mike Nagel, Jr., won the Sportsman feature, followed by Corey Ziegler and Butch Green.

Rich Green led Shane Wolf, Jr., and Carl Shimer to the line of the Street Stock feature.

Larry Rowley won the Factory Stock feature. Buck Mills, Jr., and Gary Cleveland completed the top five.

Joe Warner and Andy Brigham split a pair of Four Cylinder Features.

Brigham was second behind Warner in the first feature, followed by Andy Colwell. Beezer Wilkie and Colwell completed the top three in Brighman’s win.


Five Mile Point Speedway

At Kirkwood, NY, on May 14, Justin Holland and Stewart Friesen split Twin 20 Modified features.

Jim Gabriel, Jr. was second in the first of the twin features, followed by Friesen in third.

Tom Votra and Ken Titus completed the top three in the second feature won by Friesen.

There were several first-time winners in the other divisions.

Shawn Bruce won his first feature in the IMCA Modified finale, leading Gary Roberts and Scott Bennett to the line.

Jason Butler won for the first time in Street Stocks. Ryan Stone and Yler Yeagle completed the top three.

Adam Gilbert topped Dustin Desmond and Deb Stalker in the Lightning Cat Novice feature.

Nick Petrilak was the Sportsman winner, followed by P.J. Goodwin and Brian Batzel.

Andy Brigham won the Lightning Cat Expert feature over Jeff Hayes and John Siedlecky.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.