OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing: Weather Still Plagues Tracks


Weather once again played havoc with the area auto racing slate this past weekend.

While Friday’s scheduled shows at Dunn Hill 2 Speedway and Penn Can Speedway were held, Five Mile Point postponed Saturday’s scheduled show. Skyview Drags only completed one final—Junior Dragsters—before calling the session.

Wyalusing Valley Motorsports Park did hold its scheduled practice session Saturday along with a special Teamwork Challenge race for Sportsman karts.

Chemung Speedrome, which had originally planned to open for the season on Friday, May 6, has pushed back its starting date to May 22 because the wet spring has delayed preparations.


Wyalusing Valley

Motorsports Park

At Homets Ferry, on May 7, practice was limited because of persistent afternoon showers, but the drivers generally approved of the racing surface and the newly configured third and fourth turns, according to track promoter Billy Maynard.

After practice, seven Sportsman karts, each with three-driver teams, took the track for the 95.3 The Bridge Teamwork Challenge.

Each driver took turns behind the wheel for three 32-lap segments.

Trophies were presented to the winner of each segment, and there was also a trophy for the overall winning team over the full 96-lap distance.

Matt McKernan won the first segment, giving his teammate, Dalton Maynard, the pole position for the second segment.

With a thick fog settling over the speedway, Maynard and Rodney McConnell battled through the early laps.

On lap 19, Maynard made contact with McConnell while trying to pass on the inside of turn 2. Maynard’s kart got airborne, damaging the machine enough that he had to retire from the race.

McConnell went on to win the second segment.

In the third segment, Geoff Arnold, Jr., who started from the outside pole, grabbed the early lead.

First, Nick Funk and then Collin Hadlock passed Arnold. On the last lap, Hadlock passed Funk for the victory.

Hadlock’s win also secured the overall race victory for McConnell and Rob Funk. The three drivers completed all 96 laps.

The team of Geoff Arnold, Sr., Jaye Winemiller and Geoff Arnold, Jr. was the only other one to run the full 96 laps.

Point racing at WVMP begins this Saturday, starting at 5:30 p.m. with a full show, including all the weekly divisions. The 270 Microsprints will battle for a $400 winner’s purse.


Dunn Hill 2 Speedway

At Monroeton, on May 6, Wyalusing’s Chad Ely won the Street Stock feature in the season opener for Dunn Hill 2.

Ely assumed the lead when race leader Bobby Maynard retired with a broken tie rod late in the event. Bill Price was second, followed by Rich Sharpsteen.

In the Factory Stock feature, Brad Sites finished ahead of Mike Chilson and Don Burgess. Sites, who actually crossed the line in second place, was awarded the victory when Shannon Oswald failed to report to technical inspection with the winning car.

Eddie Sites won the IMCA Modified feature over Shawn Bruce and Harry Ely.

In Mini Stock action, Eric Ellsworth opened the season with a win, ahead of Shawn Gowin and Shane Brown. Ellsworth, who staged a tight battle with Greg Turner in the early laps, inherited the lead when Turner spun out.

Andy Dorman won the Front Wheel Drive feature, taking advantage of Klem Underwood’s misfortunes. The two had a tight back-and-forth battle for the lead when a red flag flew after a wreck involving Josh Benjamin. Underwood’s car developed mechanical issues on the re-start, allowing Dorman to pull away for the victory. Kenny Underwood finished second, followed by Rick Sinsabaugh.


Penn Can Speedway

At Susquehanna, PA, on May 6, Kevin Hartnett won the Modified feature, taking the lead from eventual runner-up Darwin Green with four laps to go. Mike Nagel finished third.

In the Late Model feature, Dan Stone led flag-to-flag but not without a scare or two. Late in the race, a lapped car spun in front of Stone, making contact with the leader. Tracy Gregory was second, followed by Dan Snyder.

Rich Green won the Street Stock feature, holding off Brenton Miller and Shane Wolf, Jr. following a late-race caution.

In the Crate Sportsman feature, Adam McGeorge held off a strong challenge from runner-up Jeff Crambo for the win. Mike Nagel, Jr. was third.

Andy Brigham continued to dominate the Four Cylinder action, winning over Beezer Wilkie and Joe Warner.


Skyview Drags

At Tioga Center, NY, Ron Klein defeated Dylan Peckham to win the Junior Dragster final.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.