OldArchive / Sports

Auto Racing: Wilkins Wins at WVMP


First-time winners, a power outage and edge of the seat racing highlighted Mid-season Championship Night at Wyalusing Valley Motorsports Park on July 16.

Under a brilliant full moon, Kayla Wilkins found victory lane for the first time as a 600 Microsprint pilot, holding off point leader Jordan Tittle for the win. Austin Ely was third.

Actually, Wilkins saw the checkers twice as the checkered flag fell mistakenly fell five laps early in the 25-lap feature. After the field was re-set, Wilkins hung on during the five-lap sprint to the real finish.

Gene Beadle also scored his first win in the 270 Microsprints. After a stirring battle with Derek Frederick, Beadle maneuvered through lap traffic to pick up the win.  J.J. Uliana was second, followed by Rich Howard, Jr.

In other small car action, Dalton Maynard won the All-Star Slingshot feature over Jake Maynard and Nick Molyneux.

Alex Shaffer held off Jared Zionkowski and Leo McGurrin in the Junior Slingshot finale.

Joel Smith took the Stage One Modified checkers. Anthony Schlosser was second, followed by Kyle Strohl.

In the Youth karts, Destiny Powell joined the ranks of first-time winners in Rookie Purple. Craig Smith was second, followed by Cody Kershner.

Matt Addonna won the Novice Blue feature. Seth Anderson and Jacob Doyle completed the top three.

Collin Hadlock won the Sportskids feature. Ryan Funk was second, followed by MacKenzie Doyle.

Mike Ely was a two-time winner Saturday, picking up Clone and Flathead features.

Logan Terry was second in the Clone final. Scott Lamphere and Cal Snyder completed the Flathead top three.

Steve Potochney had to wait out a 30-minute delay when a power surge knocked out the track lights, but it didn’t matter as he notched his sixth Animal win of the season. Wayne Miller was second, followed by Larry Faucett.


Dunn Hill 2 Speedway

At Monroeton, on July 15, Jason Benjamin and Ernie Martin split a pair of Street Stock features, including the make-up of a rained-out finale from earlier in the season.

In the make-up feature, Benjamin inherited the lead when two frontrunners were involved in an incident. He crossed the finish line with a tire going down to claim his first win of the year. Martin was second and Josh Ames was third.

Martin held off Gene Sharpsteen for the victory in the regularly slated feature. Billy Price was third.

Eddie McKernan won the IMCA feature. Victor McNeal was second, followed by Eddie Sites.

Wyalusing’s Andrew Dorman returned to the victory circle in Front Wheel Drive, holding off Klem Underwood and Kenny Underwood.

Shane Brown made a last-lap pass of Josh Hall to win the Mini Stock feature. It was Brown’s first victory. Mike Pence was third.

In Factory Stocks, Mike Chilson took the checkers ahead of Dale Ostrander and Kurtis Benjamin.


Penn Can Speedway

On July 16, at Susquehanna, PA, Garth Tonkin, Jr. won the Modified feature. Bob Trapper was second, followed by Mike Colsten.

Curt Tunilo, Jr. won the Late Model finale over Tracy Gregory and Paul Strohl.

Jeff Crambo was the winner of the Sportsman feature. Mike Nagel, Jr. was second, followed by Eric Stephens. Final results in this division were pending the technical inspection results.

Ken Sparks, Jr. took the Street Stock features over Ryan Stone and Butch Green.

In Four Cylinders, Nick Grist picked up the win over Joe Warner and Andy Brighman.

Gary Cleveland held off Rob Warner and George Brown to take Factory Stock honors.

Scott Houdeschell won the Central PA Legends race. Gary Burd was second, followed by Tim Henry.

On July 17, the track hosted the Northeast Small Car Summer Nationals.

Tyler Walton won the 600 Microsprint feature over Shane Lewis and Tim Buckwalter.

In 270 Microsprints, Brian Marriott took the checkers ahead of Mike Rutherford and Mike Schuckers.

Jamie Batzel took the Slingshot checkers over Ben Whitaker and Cody Kline.

Andy Brigham won the Four Cylinder feature over Nick Grist and Klem Underwood.


Shangri-La II Speedway

At Tioga Center, NY, on July 16, Jimmy Zacharias won the Sportsman feature over Tony Hanbury and Bryan Sherwood. Wyalusing’s Paul Johnson was sixth.

Lee Sharpsteen held off Gil Sharpsteen to win the Street Stock feature. Chris Zacharias was third.

Jim Lamoreaux won the Late Model feature over Joe Brown and Joseph Burns.


Five Mile Point Speedway

Jamie Batzel won the Modified feature over Jim Crawn and Kevin Bates at Kirkwood, NY, on July 16.

Ed Sites won the IMCA Modified feature. Scott Bennett and Mike Wilmot completed the top three.

In Sportsman action, Nick Petrilak took the checkers ahead of Mike Loney and Mike Austin.

Tyler Yeagle won the Street Stock feature over Randy Marsh and Jason Butler.

Duane Kinne defeated Andy Brigham and Damien Bausenwein in the Lightning Cat Expert feature.

Scott Heeman won the Lightning Cat Novice race over Tucker Harpell and Ronald Welsch.


Skyview Drags

At Tioga Center, NY, on July 16, Chuck White won the Super Pro final. Other winners included Tim Zyla (Pro), Charlie Fulmer (Street Money), Howie Conklin (Street Trophy), Brent Garcia (Bike/Sled), Brandon Searcy (Teen Championship Racing) and Kenneth Roberts (Northeast Open Comp).

On July 9, the track hosted a number of special events, including the Pro Sled Shootout.

Ryan Orizino won the Outlaw final. Jacob Bissonnette took All Motor honors. Lynn Major won the Bike/Sled Bracket Bash. Mark Quail won the 6.50 Index class.

The track also held the Tommy Ingalls No Guts No Glory Gamblers race. Because of poor track conditions late in the event, the finals for both the Box and No Box classes couldn’t be held. All four semifinals agreed to split the purse money and award the two trophies to the two local drivers as declared winners—Dave Fetterman in No Box and Joe Ingalls in Box. The other No Box semifinalist was Rob Nelson and the Box semifinalist was Paul Kelsch.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.