OldArchive / Sports

Elk Lake Wrestlers Fall Short at District Two Championships

Elk Lake's Devin Fiorentino came up one win short of qualifying for the Class AA Northeast Regional wrestling with a fourth-place finish at the District Two tourney at Lake-Lehman High School on Feb. 26.

Fiorentino, a senior who won the 130-pound district title last year and was a regional qualifier in 2009, was the top seed for the 130-pound bracket.

He advanced to the semifinals with a 1:19 pin of Lackawanna Trail's Andrew O'Brein and a 46-second pin of Wyoming Area's Steve Barush.

In the semifinals, Fiorentino dropped a 10-5 decision to Blue Ridge's Dalton Church. Church went on to win the weight class with a 7-4 win over Nanticoke's James McMoore.

Fiorentino pinned Scranton Prep's Griffith Walters in 2:59 in the consolation semifinals.

Dallas's Brian DeLuca edged Fiorentino, 6-4, for third place, which was the final advancement place for the Northeast Regional tournament.

Fiorentino was Elk Lake's only place winner as the Warriors finished 15th in the tournament with 25 points.

Dallas won the team title with 226 points. Western Wayne was second with 204.

At 119 pounds, Elk Lake's Mason Maye, a sophomore, lost to Dallas's Aaron Perez by fall in 3:55. In the consolation bracket, Maye won a 17-5 major decision over Nanticoke's Tom Lacomy. He was eliminated by Wyoming Area's Nick Heck, 9-0.

Dan Daly, a junior wrestling at 135 pounds, won his first bout with a 5:06 pin of Valley View's Bob Williams. He lost his next two bouts, falling via pins to Meyers's Darren Stucker in 1:52 and to Scranton Prep's Nathan Gelb Dyller in 2:15.

Jarred Curry, a junior, lost his first two bouts at 152 pounds. Dallas's Bill Dixon pinned Curry in 1:04. Lackawanna Trail's Jeremy Greenley pinned him in 39 seconds.

At 171 pounds, Isaiah Ofalt, a sophomore, lost his opening-round bout, 13-1, to Nanticoke's Kyle Koviak.

In the consolation bracket, Ofalt nipped Valley View's Brandon Rotell, 3-2. G.A.R.'s Lance Letteer eliminated him with a 10-1 major decision in the consolation semifinals.

Besides Church, the other weight class winners included Western Wayne's Evan Decker (103) and Casey Fuller (160); Meyers's Vito Pasone (112) and Darren Stucker (135); Lake-Lehman's Austin Harry (119), Bryan Carter (145) and Nick Shelley (171); Wyoming Area's Andy Schutz (125); Susquehanna's Tom Maby (140); Dallas's Bill Dixon (152) and Adam Goeringer (189); Lackawanna Trail's Eric Laytos (215) and Valley View's Mike Galantini (285).

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.