OldArchive / Sports

Friesen Wins Penn Can Finale


Stewart Friesen won the King of the Can Modified feature at Penn Can Speedway on Sunday, Nov. 13.

Friesen, who pocketed $5,000 with the win at the Susquehanna, PA, facility, led Jeff Strunk and Pat Ward across the finish line.

Kyle Rohner took home the $1,000 winner’s purse in the Crate Sportman feature. Anthony Perrego was second, followed by Mike Nagel, Jr.

In the Race of Champions Street Stock feature, Butch Green held off his brother, Rick Green, for the win, worth $500. Jared Hill was third.

Bob Buono, who finished 14th, clinched the ROC Street Stock season title.


Shangri-La II Banquet

At Endicott, NY, on Nov. 12, Shangri-La II Motor Speedway held its 2011 awards banquet at The McKinley.

Joe Brown won the ASA Late Model title. Jimmy Zacharias claimed his second consecutive championship in Sportsman. Lee Sharpsteen took home Street Stock honors.

Several special awards were presented.

Wyalusing’s Paul Johnson received the Hard Luck Driver Award after a trying season in the Sportsman division.

Brad Knapp, a Street Stock driver, was named Rookie of the Year.

Dean Rypkema was named the Crew Chief of the Year.

Charlie Sharpsteen received the Sportsmanship Award.

The Best-Appearing Car awards went to Schneider Motorsports Late Model, Bryan Sherwood’s Sportsman, and the Brian Nalepa-owned Street Stock driven by Matt Visingard.

Josh Lloyd, a Late Model driver, picked up a pair of awards, including Most Improved. He also won the Five Star Bodies Contingency Award.

Outstanding Service Awards were presented to chief scorer Maggie Waible, race director/handicapper Jason Waible and scorer Ken Waible. Joe Buchek, Sr. also received an Outstanding Service Award for his support of the facility.

The track announced that planning was underway to add Four Cylinder and Junior Four Cylinder divisions in 2012.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.