OldArchive / Sports

Jackson Wins Modified Feature at Redline Raceway

With Tropical Storm Bonnie and Hurricane Charley expected to hit the area last weekend, it didn't look good for area race tracks.

Fortunately, both storms missed the region. The Chemung Speedrome was the only track forced to cancel its scheduled Friday show because of weather.

Redline Raceway

At Granville, on Aug. 13, Mike Jackson won the Modified feature.

Other winners were J.T. McKernan in Street Stocks, Joe Rafferty in Pure Stocks, Mike Navone in Mini Stocks and Steve Hartman, Jr. in IMCA Modifieds.

Penn Can Speedway

At Susquehanna, PA, on Aug. 13, Brian Weaver won the Modified feature.

Other winners included R.J. Windhausen in Late Models, Kevin Bates in Sportsman, Paul Rooney in Super Stocks and Charlie Gilbert in Pure Stocks.

On Tuesday, Aug. 10, Frank Cozze won the rain-shortened Modified feature on the annual Hot Summer Night program. Bates captured the Sportsman feature.

Tioga Motorsports Park

At Owego, NY, on Aug. 14, eight features were contested, including the Modified and B-Modified features that were delayed from Aug. 7 when an accident damaged the catch fence and light poles on the front stretch.

Lee Sherwood won the Modified feature that was completed from Aug. 7. Wayne Lent captured the make-up B-Modified feature.

T.J. Potrzebrowski won the regular Modified feature. Other winners included Brian Bowen in B-Modifieds, Jim Lamoreaux in Late Models, Charlie Lohmeyer in Street Stocks, Jason Urso in Legends and Duane Manzer in Factory Stocks.

The track will begin racing at 4 p.m. beginning with this Saturday's program.

Five Mile Point Speedway

At Kirkwood, NY, on Aug. 14, Brian Malcolm won the Modified feature.

Other winners included Brandon Buck in Sportsman, Kurt Decker in Street Stocks, Gary Dence in UMP Modifieds and Chris Wood in Pure Stocks.

Skyview Dragstrip

At Tioga Center, NY, on Aug. 14, Mike Thompson won the Pro Division, defeating Zane Murphy.

In Street Money, Ken Bacon defeated Joe Patelunas in the final. Tony Ferringno won the Trophy Division over Dave Fetterman. Lynn Major defeated Jim Collins in the Motorcycle final.

Ace High Speedway

At Monroeton, on Saturday, Aug. 21, the Four-, Six- and Eight-Cylinder Enduros return to Ace High Speedway. Pure Stocks will also be on the card that begins at 6 p.m.

The rain date will be Aug. 22 with racing to start at 2 p.m.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.