OldArchive / Sports

Rain Dampens Weekend at Area Tracks

Rain shortened Friday night's programs at Redline Raceway and Penn Can Speedway.

The weekend's heavy rains forced Five Mile Point to cancel Saturday's program.

Penn Can Speedway

At Susquehanna, PA, on Aug. 20, only two of the six scheduled features were completed before the rain arrived.

Jamie Griffiths captured the Late Model feature. Nick Van Enwegen took the checkered flag in the Tobias Slingshot Tour feature.

The delayed Modified and Super Stock features will be made up this Friday prior to the start of the regular program.

On Sept. 3, the Sportsman and Pure Stock features will be held prior to the scheduled show.

Redline Raceway

At Granville, on Aug. 20, Mike Schane won the Modified feature and Terry Petrobowski took the Street Stock feature.

The Pure Stocks, Mini Stocks and IMCA Modifieds will run their delayed features Friday along with the regular program.

Tioga Motorsports Park

At Owego, NY, on Aug. 21, Tony Hanbury won the Modified feature.

Joe Berretta captured the 50-lap Late Model Gold Cup championship that had been delayed from an earlier date. In the regular Late Model feature, Glenn Lippolis took the checkered flag.

Other winners included R.J. Zacharias in Street Stock and Duane Manzer in Factory Stocks.

Skyview Dragstrip

At Tioga Center, NY, Frank Francis won the Super Pro final when Jack Reome redlighted. Francis ran 122.97 mph in 5.772 seconds.

In the Street final, Bob Mayers defeated Orville Wilcox with a 100.47 mph run in 6.77 seconds.

In Motorcycles, Al Raineri downed Darrin DeRose with a speed of 83.6 mph and a 6.19-second elapsed time.

Five Mile Point Speedway

At Kirkwood, NY, promoter Andrew Harpell admitted that the track surface could have been ready for Saturday night's scheduled program, but the parking lots were in bad shape from the heavy rain.

This Saturday's schedule includes the final appearance this year of the Figure Eight cars.

Chemung Speedrome

At Chemung, NY, the decision earlier in the week to move the program from Friday to Sunday worked for the embattled track.

On Aug. 22, Daren Scherer won the B-Modified feature.

Todd Stone won the Street Stock feature. Wyalusing's Paul Johnson finished sixth.

Other winners included Scott Millard in Four-Cylinders, George Scherer in Legends and Matt Kurzejewski in Speedrome Juniors.

Travis McDonald and Rusty Miller won the Street Stock and Four-Cylinder mechanic's races, respectively.

Ace High Speedway

At Monroeton, on Aug. 22, Bob Schultz won the Four-Cylinder Enduro.

Other winners included Kurt Dunn in Six-Cylinder Enduros, Jeremy Williams in Eight-Cylinder Enduros and Dave Roberts in Pure Stocks.

Bill Stalford won the special Mechanic's race.

A 100-lap Enduro race for eight-, six- and four-cylinder cars is slated for Saturday, Sept. 18, beginning at 6 p.m. The rain date is Sept. 19 with racing at 2 p.m.

Pre-registration for competitors is $50. Race day registration will be $75. There will be a $1,000 winner's purse if there are 50 or more cars.

Pre-registration forms are available at all area NAPA stores or from promoter David Dunn.

For more information, call Dunn at (570) 265-2855 or (570) 265-1802 or at (570) 265-7223 on race day.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.