OldArchive / Sports

Rain Halts Racing at Dunn Hill 2, Penn Can


Wet weather again disrupted the area’s auto racing schedule with shows either canceled or shortened at Dunn Hill 2, Penn Can, Chemung Speedrome and Shangri-La II.

Dunn Hill and Penn Can both started Friday’s slated programs before bad weather forced promoters to stop action.

Neither Chemung nor Shangri-La have seen cars turn a competitive lap this season. Wet grounds have prevented Chemung’s promoters from getting the grounds ready, while wet ground and a power outage stopped Shangri-La’s show.

Wyalusing Valley Motorsports Park was off for the Memorial Day weekend.


Five Mile Point Speedway

At Kirkwood, NY, on May 28, Stewart Friesen won the Modified feature over Justin Holland and Kevin Bates.

In Sportsman action, Joel Batzel took the checkers ahead of Jerry Tonti and P.J. Goodwin.

Jason Butler won the Street Stock feature. Shane Wolf, Jr. was second, followed by Tyler Yeagle.

Scott Bennett won the IMCA Modified feature over Brad Weaver and Gary Smith.

Andy Brigham continued to dominate the Lightning Cat Expert feature. Troy Kress and Jeff Hayes completed the top three.

Scott Heeman held off Lynn Buchanon and Adam Gilbert in Lightning Cat Novice action.


Penn Can Speedway

At Susquehanna, PA, three features were completed before dangerous thunderstorms rolled through the area on May 27.

Mike Colsten won the Modified feature over Kevin Bates and Al Rudalavage.

Ryan Stone took Street Stock honors, holding off Shane Wolf, Jr. and Doug Polhamus.

Steve Drevicki won the ARDC Midget feature. Dusty Heistand and Ryan Watt completed the top three.

The Sportsman and Four-Cylinder features will be made up on June 3, while the Factory Stock finale is slated for June 10.

Dunn Hill 2 Speedway

At Monroeton, on May 27, the qualifying races were completed before the track became too muddy to continue.

Jeremy Williams and Marcus Wood were the Front-Wheel Drive heat winners.

In Mini Stocks, Mike Koser and Travis Parks took heat wins.

Harry Ely and Eddie Sites won the IMCA Modified heats.

Frank Petroski won the Factory Stock heat.

Ernie Martin won the first Street Stock heat. Bobby Maynard won the rain-shortened second heat.

The Factory Stock and IMCA Modified feature will be made up prior to this Friday’s show. The other features will be slotted into upcoming programs. 

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.