OldArchive / Sports

Rains Hold Off, Racing Held Without a Hitch


Despite threatening skies and rain to the southeast, Wyalusing Valley Motorsports Park managed to get the entire evening’s scheduled events in without any disruption from Mother Nature.

Jeffrey Crispell led the 600's to the green, jumping into the early lead. Austin Ely took over second from Bob Maynard on lap 2, then began to pressure Crispell for the top spot. On lap 7, Ely saw an opening and drove to the lead. On lap 10, Jordan Tittle would take over second as he worked to reel in Ely. His efforts proved to be futile as Ely held on for the win over Tittle, Crispell, Butch Tittle and Kyle Pierce.

Tittle was not to be denied in the 270 main, as he led wire to wire over Austin Bishop. Bob Maynard settled for third, with J.J. Uliana and Derek Frederick completing the top five. Gene Beadle entered the night with the points lead, but engine woes saw him drop out early. This, coupled with Tittle's win, reversed the top two in the standings with just two points races remaining for the micros. It appears this is one battle that will go down to the wire.

The Uliana Race Products Hard Charges Awards went to Jordan Tittle (600's, +3 positions) and Tommy Rought (270's, +2).

Dalton Maynard took the lead from his pole start in Allstar Slingshots as Jake Maynard and Nick Molyneux began a very tight battle for second. As the two fought for the runner-up spot, the leader began to open up a sizeable lead in the cautionless event. At the checkers, it was Dalton Maynard, Jake Maynard, Molyneux, Collin Hadlock and Nick Funk in the top five.

Alex Shaffer duplicated Maynard's feat, leading wire to wire in the Jr. Slingshot feature. Leo McGurrin, Abbey Price and Kamdin Maby filled out the field.

Keith Lamphere made it two in a row in SportsKids, taking the "Thriller 30" over Kelsey Pierce, Ryan Funk, Collin Hadlock and Lucas Bahr.

The Sportsmen division saw 17 competitors take the green in an event that saw a nasty rollover by competitor Jerry Traver after a mechanical failure sent him tumbling. Traver exited his machine uninjured. Nick Funk took the win, with Kyle Traver, Scott Lamphere, Rodney McConnell and Chris Kithcart earning top fives.

In Moore's Auto/RV Sales Adult Kart action, the Flatheads ran the re-scheduled "Flathead Follies 30" with Cal Snyder capturing the win. Bryan Miller took second, ahead of Dave Hazard, David Perry and Bob Coveney.

Animals found Steve Potochney in the front, with Keith Lamphere, Wayne Miller and Bob Coveney rounding out the field.

The stock appearing clones had only one entry, that of Logan Terry. After consulting with the Animal competitors, Terry was welcomed to run with them but scored separately. This experiment proved to be very interesting, as Terry and Potochney put on quite a show for the fans and ran very close to equal lap times.

The Rookie Purple division put on one of the closest and cleanest battles of the season in any division, as Craig Smith and Destiny Powell wrestled for the top spot. Smith held the lead to lap 9, until Powell made her way past and went on to win. Smith, Cody Kershner, Connor Davis and Caleb Hadlock graced the top five.

Matt Addonna won Novice Blue over a great run by Jacob Doyle. Seth Anderson, Dom Rogers and Riley Gowin were all in the top five.

The night's events were presented by Maby Racing and Southern Tier Alternative Therapies (STAT). STAT was on hand with drawings and prizes as a fundraiser for the charity. Nearly $500 was raised for the organization.

The excitement of the 2011 season is at its peak, with four big events remaining on the schedule.

This week will see the third annual Ernie Godshalk Memorial, with extra awards up for grabs in the micro, slingshot and stage one modified divisions. Godshalk was a big fan of these divisions and was often present at area speedways, including visits to WVMP, in support of his favorite drivers. At the request of the family and the event sponsors, the event has been moved to WVMP for 2011.


Dunn Hill 2 Speedway

At Monroeton, on Aug. 12, Eddie Sites won his seventh IMCA Mod feature during King of the Hill Night.

Other winners included Brad Sites (Factory Stock), Ernie Martin (Street Stocks), J.R. Bush (Mini Stocks) and Marcus Wood (Front Wheel Drive).

On Aug. 10, Eddie Sites won the IMCA Empire State Series race.

Rich Sharpsteen won the Street Stock/Pro Stock feature. Tim Dunn was the Four Cylinder feature winner.

On Aug. 5, Eddie McKernan won the IMCA Modified feature. Other winners included Eric Ellsworth (Mini Stock), Klem Underwood (Front Wheel Drive), Bobby Maynard (Street Stock) and Brad Sites (Factory Stock).


Penn Can Speedway

At Susquehanna, PA, on Aug. 12, Alex Stanton and Mike Nagel, Jr. split Sportsman features.

Other winners were Dan Stone (Late Model), Randy Gates (Street Stock), Andy Brigham (Four Cylinder), Gary Cleveland (Factory Stock) and Scott Houdeshell (Central PA Legends).

On Aug. 5, Bob Trapper won the Modified feature. Other winners were Jim O’Hara (Late Model), Eric Stephens, Jr. (Sportsman) and Ryan Stone (Street Stock).


Five Mile Point Speedway

At Kirkwood, NY, on Aug. 13, Stewart Friesen won the Modified feature.

Other winners were Ryan Stone (Street Stock), Joe Cole (IMCA Modified), Troy Kress (Lightning Cat Expert), Josh Wilbur (Lightning Cat Novice), Tucker Harpell (Kiddie Cats) and Wendy Elliott (A League of Their Own).


Shangri-La II Speedway

At Tioga Center, NY, on Aug. 13, Matt Kurzejewski won the Sportsman feature.

Joe Brown won the Late Model feature. Other winners were Gil Sharpsteen (Street Stock) and Ryan Bergenty (Sprint Cup Crewmen Exhibition).


Chemung Speedrome

At Chemung, NY, on Aug. 12, Mike Leaty won the Race of Champions Modified feature.

Other winners were Matt Pappa (Legends), John Lane (Super Stocks), Brandon Ameigh (Four Cylinders) and David French (Bandoleros).

On Aug. 5, J.R. Kent won the Modified race.

Other winners included Bethany Scherer (Legends), Jeff Goodwin (Super Stocks), Ameigh (Four Cylinders) and Wesley McCray (Bandoleros).


Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.