OldArchive / Sports

Sutton Leads WVHS Harriers to Sixth-Place Finish


Led by Tyler Sutton’s 15th-place finish, the Wyalusing Valley boys’ cross country team finished sixth at the Cliff Robbins Invitational in Dallas on Saturday, Sept. 3.

Sutton finished the race in 18:54 for the Rams, who had 191 points.

Dallas won the team title with 60 points, followed by North Pocono (121), Holy Redeemer (161), Northeast Bradford (169) and Abington Heights (185).

Abington Height’s Sean Burke was the race winner in 16:58, followed by Northeast Bradford’s Curt Jewett (17:09) and Sam Williams (17:17).

For Wyalusing, Aaron Woodruff and Brenten Gerould were 34th and 36th, respectively. Woodruff finished in 19:31 and Gerould ran 19:33.

Mark Kusmierz was 52nd in 20:02. Matt Woodruff finished two spots behind Kusmierz in 20:06. Dylan Bulick was 62nd in 20:21. Mitchell Pickett finished 81st, overall, in 20:58.

Other times included Cody Pickett (23:21), Dominic Ciccolini (23:37), Jordan Schools (25:56) and Brian Sanger (27:48).

In the girls’ varsity race, Wyalusing finished 18th in the team standings with 474 points.

Council Rock North was the team champion with 105 points, edging out Holy Redeemer (108) and Dallas (111).

Holy Redeemer’s Marissa Durako was the overall race winner in 19:52.

Pam Kelley was Wyalusing’s top runner with a time of 23:55. She was 57th, overall.

Mackenzie Martin was 90th, overall, in 25:29. Savannah Schools was 107th in 26:15. Arielle Kneller was 118th in 26:41. Emily Edwards finished 160th in 29:00. Carlyn Edsell was 196th in 32:29.

In the junior high boys’ race, Northeast Bradford’s Levi Upham was the overall winner in 10:43.

Tracey Brown was Wyalusing’s first runner in a time of 13:03, finishing 48th. Other times included Mitchell Schools (13:59) and Collin Sharer (9:29).

Pittston Area’s Tara Johnson won the girls’ junior high race in 12:05.

Three Wyalusing girls competed, led by Casey Host in 19:00. Amanda Brown finished in 19:10. Raegan Steele ran a 22:53.



Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.