OldArchive / Sports

WVHS Boys' Basketball: Rams Earn All-NTL Honors

Wyalusing Valley's Paul Hugo and Aaron Johnson were first-team selections by the Northern Tier League East boys' basketball coaches in voting held recently.

The Rams' Ryan Miller was named to the second team.

Johnson, a junior, led the Rams, which finished with an 11-10 record, including an 8-4 league mark, with a 20.1 point-per-game average. He also led the team with 53 assists and 50 steals. Johnson also pulled down 141 rebounds and made 13 blocks.

Hugo, a senior, averaged 11.5 points per game. He led the Rams with 195 rebounds and 28 blocks. He also had 24 assists and 14 steals.

Miller, a senior, averaged 9.2 points per game and led the team in three-point shooting, making 40 percent of his shots. He also handed out 36 assists and made 85 rebounds and 24 steals.

Joining Hugo and Johnson on the first team were Sayre's Taylor Skerpon, who was also named the league's Most Valuable Player; Athens' Jarred Gambrell and Mark Wright; Northeast Bradford's Robbie Robbins; Towanda's Cody Miller and Troy's Zach Root.

The second team included Athens' Nick Carl; Canton's Eddie Larcom and Emmett Watson; Sayre's Riley Card; Towanda's Casey Huff and Mason Roof and Troy's Jed Wright.

Athens' Jim Davis, who guided the Wildcats to the NTL East title, was named Coach of the Year.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.