OldArchive / Sports

WVHS Gridders Earn District Honors


Wyalusing Valley outside linebacker Dan Frankenfield was named to the District Four North All-Star Football first-team in balloting recently.

Frankenfield, a senior, made 65 solo tackles and added 11 assists for the Rams this season. He also recovered a fumble and made an interception.

He earned second-team honors as a tailback where he gained 1,005 yards and eight touchdowns on the ground. He also had six receptions for 94 yards.

Other second-team honorees for the Rams included Anthony Benninger (defensive tackle, offensive guard) and Clayton Force (defensive end).

Benninger, a senior, had 68 solo tackles and 15 assists defensively, along with three fumble recoveries.

Force, also a senior, had 64 tackles, 19 assists, one fumble recovery and a blocked kick.

Rams making the honorable mention list were senior Joey Champluvier (strong safety), junior Tyler Fenton (punter), senior Tracey LaFrance (offensive tackle), junior Jeremy Allyn (tight end) and senior Chris McDonald (wide receiver).

The first team offense included tackles David Canfield (Towanda) and Jesse Baker (Montgomery); guards Billy Haines (Williamsport) and Nathan Stettler (North Penn); center Nick Harer (North Penn); tight end Zach Root (Troy); wide receivers Ray McDougan (Athens) and Zack Ripic (Towanda); quarterback Lucas Havens (Troy); fullback Mason Roof (Towanda); tailbacks Skye Stiner (North Penn) and Casey Shiposh (Athens); versatility/athlete Jordan Dawsey (Towanda) and placekicker Christian Clark (Montoursville).

Besides Frankenfield and Benninger, the second team offense included tackles John Canfield (Athens) and Eric Worthington (Loyalsock); guard Jared Fisher (Jersey Shore); center Jake Colburn (Muncy); tight end Sam Taylor (Montoursville); wide receivers Rijad Sabanovich (Muncy) and Cameron Karschner (Montoursville); quarterback Jacob Jones (Montoursville); fullback Scott Rockwell (Canton); tailback Devin Miller (Williamsport); versatility/athlete Marquis Delgado (North Penn) and placekicker Troy Stivason (Athens).

Other first-team defensive honorees were defensive tackles Jesse Baker (Montgomery), Jared Fisher (Jersey Shore), Nick Harer (North Penn) and Shakyil Murphy (Williamsport); defensive ends Ryan Hostrander (Williamsport), Erik Tokarz (Montoursville) and David Canfield (Towanda); inside linebackers Tanner Buckley (Troy) and Mike Kinney (Loyalsock); outside linebackers Lucas Havens (Troy); strong safety Jordan Dawsey (Towanda); cornerbacks Nick Carl (Athens) and Anthony James (Williamsport); free safety Clayton Good (Muncy) and punter Christian Clark (Montoursville).

The second team defense included defensive tackles Delbert Lewis (Troy) and John Canfield (Athens); defensive end Jeff Dincher (Jersey Shore); inside linebackers Mike Estes (Athens) and Mason Roof (Towanda); outside linebackers Matt Krezmer (Montoursville), Jevin Vanderpool (Towanda) and Alex Lyons (Sayre); strong safety Mike Dougherty (Loyalsock); cornerbacks Marquis Delgado (North Penn) and Zack Ripic (Towanda); free safety Adam McCauley (Athens) and punter Zack Ripic (Towanda).

The seniors selected to the first and second teams are automatically eligible to compete for the North in the annual District Four all-star game in South Williamsport in June.

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.