OldArchive / Sports

WVHS Wrestling: Grapplers Make All-NTL Squads

Two Wyalusing Valley wrestlers, including PIAA qualifier Mike Cobb, were named to the Northern Tier League first team in all-star balloting by the coaches recently.

Cobb, a senior 171-pounder, was joined on the first team by junior teammate Ryan Hart, who wrestled at 130 pounds.

Four other Ram grapplers earned second-team honors—sophomore Brandon Kelley (112) and juniors Joey Champluvier (140), Tim Kuntz (145) and Anthony Clark (189).

Dan Frankenfield (160) and Clayton Force (215), both juniors, were on the honorable mention list.

Cobb finished the season with a 35-5 record, including first-place finishes at the Carlisle, Tunkhannock and North Section tournaments. He also finished second in both the District Four and Northeast Regional tournaments, earning a spot at the PIAA tournament.

Hart, 29-10, posted victories at Tunkhannock and the North Section tournaments. He also was second at Carlisle and fifth in the District Four tournament.

Kelley was 31-6, highlighted by a second-place finish at the North Section tournament. He also was third at Tunkhannock and fifth at Carlisle.

Champluvier, 26-9, won the Carlisle and North Section tournaments and was fourth at Tunkhannock.

Kuntz, 24-12, had third place finishes at Tunkhannock and the North Section tourneys.

Clark posted a 30-10 campaign including second-place finishes at Tunkhannock and the North Section tourneys. He was also third at Carlisle and fifth at the District Four meet.

Frankenfield, 19-12, was third at the North Section tournament.

Force, 22-12, was second in the North Section tourney and eighth at Tunkhannock.

Towanda's Cody Wheeler, the NTL's only PIAA medalist this season, was named the league's Most Valuable Player. He finished 48-2 en route to a second-place result at 125 pounds in Hershey.

The Towanda coaching staff of head coach Bill Sexton and assistants Bob Watkins, Jeremy Sluyter, Jake Stroud, Mike Guerin, Jass Sheets and Don Butler was selected as Coaching Staff of the Year. Towanda won the NTL Large School, District Four Team and North Section titles this season.

Besides Wheeler, other Towanda wrestlers on the All-NTL first team were Caleb Willey (135), Zack Ripic (145), R.J. Forbes (189) and Aaron Schultz (285).

Other first-team selections included Northeast Bradford's Jake Balchikonis (160); North Penn's Nathan Stettler (215); Troy's Braden Calkins (119); Wellsboro's Brenton Acorn (140) and Jake Clemens (152) and Williamson's Logan Everett (103) and Trevor McWhorter (112).

Second-team selections included Athens' Justin Schlosser (215); Canton's Daniel Killian (103), Dylan Killian (130) and Ben Pepper (152); Northeast Bradford's Zack Green (125); North Penn's Nathan Kriner (285) and Tyler Stettler (160); Towanda's Garrett VanDeMark (171); Troy's Cyle Ercolino (135) and Alex Serrano (285) and Williamson's Tyrus Hamblin (119).

Return to top

Copyright 2011-2018 Rocket-Courier. All rights reserved.